Expatriates: A8 workers registration scheme extended

Posted on 6th January, 2009

Estimated reading time 2 minutes

The UK Government has decided to extend the registration scheme, which was due to end on 30 April 2009, for two more years.  The scheme will now end on 30 April 2011.  The scheme covers workers from the so-called “A8 countries”: Czech Republic; Estonia; Hungary; Latvia; Lithuania; Poland; Slovakia; and Slovenia.  Employees from A8 countries must continue to register under the scheme, if they have not undertaken 12 months of continuous registered employment.  Employers must ensure that their A8 workers continue to satisfy the registration requirement.  Employers who do not ensure that their workers are registered may be fined up to £5,000 per non-compliant worker.

Required actions

Employers of A8 nationals should:

  • give the employee a letter on company paper stating the date on which employment started.  The employee will need this letter to apply for registration;
  • ensure that the employee applies for registration within one month of starting work;
  • keep a copy of the employee’s application form to prove that the employee applied for registration within time;
  • keep a copy of the registration certificate, which is issued upon successful application.

Further reading

Worker registration scheme
The Accession (Immigration and Worker Registration) (Amendment) Regulations 2009

For further information please contact us.


Content is for general information purposes only. The information provided is not intended to be comprehensive and it does not constitute or contain legal or other advice.  If you require assistance in relation to any issue, please seek specific advice relevant to your particular circumstances.